Skip to content

Crayon Roll ~ Free Tutorial ~ how to make your own crayon roll carrier.

December 10, 2011
Crayon Rolls

I came across these little gems on pinterest and started to make a couple for my Little People for Christmas. When my Littlest Person woke me in the wee hours, I got up and made a few more as they are so fantastic. It’s a genius of an idea ~ you can chuck them into your bag as you’re dashing out of the house and they will keep your Little Person entertained AND keep your bag crayon-crap free! My Little People enjoy putting the crayons in and out and un-tying then re-tying the ribbon almost as much as using the crayons for colouring.

I’ve adapted the pattern for other uses; my niece’s make-up roll and my Little Person’s car roll. I can see myself making ones for pencils & felt-tip pens, HappyLand people, Lego figures and the like.

Normally with me, the fabric inspires the project, but for once I actually bought the material after I decided to have a go at this project, so the fabric was bought with the crayon-rolls in mind.

Here is my tutorial for how I made the crayon rolls. It was very easy to make if a bit fiddly with the pocket sections, but after the first one (whose pocket lines are lovingly ‘wonky’), I could make one in just about an hour while also looking after my Little People. I’d love to know your thoughts on the tutorial, particularly if you think it needs tweaking at all. Also, please send me pics of the ones you create ~ you know you want to!

Easy tutorial for a crayon roll (for 16 standard crayons)

Materials Needed

main fabric for body (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
inside fabric for body (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
pocket fabric (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
interfacing or interlining (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
1 length of ribbon (I used 60cm)
threads (I used a matching one for the pocket stitching and a contrasting one for the top stitching)
fabric scissors
iron
tape measure
 
NB/ The photos in the slideshow here show the method for each step of the crayon roll, but my camera gave up the ghost while I was making the crayon rolls. The principle is exactly the same, although obviously the pocket is straight across the top (which is much easier anyway!), and there are more individual sections (and of equal measurements) for the crayons.
  1. Cut all the material down to size. If you’re planning on making more than one, cut all the material down now as once you’re on a roll (!) for stitching the pocket sections, it’s a lot easier to do them one after the other. Sew or Iron on any interfacing now
  2. For the pocket, fold the fabric in half lengthways and press. 
  3. We’re going to make the pocket sections.
    1. Pin the pocket against the (right side of the) lining fabric with the horizontal edges matching. Your pocket’s raw edges should match the raw edges of your lining fabric.
    2. Starting 3cm in from the vertical side, measure every 2cm (15 times) and you should also have 3cm on the opposite vertical side (for the seam). 
    3. Mark the vertical lines ready for stitching. I used the same colour pencil as the material, but you can use fabric chalk.
    4. Sew each pocket line, being careful to backstitch at the top and bottom of each pocket to secure the thread.
      • A quick way to do this is to stitch up a pocket section in one direction, backstitch secure, then lift your thread clear (but don’t cut yet), turn your material 180°, put the needle down into the start of the next pocket section, and stitch back down in the opposite direction. Continue doing this for all 15 sections and then cut away excess thread on the outside of the pocket. It saves a lot of time this way.
  4. Now we’re going to make the main body.
    1. Firstly fold the ribbon in half and pin the folded end of the ribbon in place at the side with the longer pocket. The ribbon needs to be pinned in towards the fabric as you will turn the roll later.
    2. Place the main fabric over the pocket and lining (right sides together) and pin in place.
    3. Stitch around the edge of the fabric with a 1cm seam, leaving a 5-6cm gap for turning. I find that it’s easiest if you leave the gap on the opposite side to the ribbon. Double stitch over the ribbon to secure.
    4. Trim corners before turning, pulling the ribbon through the gap. Use a chopstick or some such to get sharp corners.
    5. Iron the carry case flat, making sure the open seams are folded in to match where you’ve sewn them.
    6. ‘Top stitch’ (i.e. sew over the edges of the pocket) around the crayon roll for a nice finish. It’s up to you whether you use a matching or a contrasting thread. I think both look good in different ways but used a contrasting one for the main fabric.
  5. Insert the 16 crayons into their little pockets, roll up the case and you’re done! Made By Yours Truly! Admire your work and sit back with a nice cuppa or a wee tipple of your choice
    Discovered the idea for these wonderful creations on t’internet and made a whole bunch of them for my Little People, my sisters’ Little People and all my Little People’s friends.

    .

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

