Skip to content

Getting better – slowly but surely? Crochet ~ Part Deux

March 5, 2012
My 3rd 'flower' is the one on the right. 
A marked improvement from The Blob of Knots on the left!

Those of you who read my first forays into crocheting will know the shame I felt at what I made  then. I refuse to be defeated so borrowed a new book out of the library which showed me a few very basic errors I’d been making (not hooking the hook through two stitches, not knowing what on earth ‘DC into the ring’ meant) and more. 

So, while these are still many, many moons away from something substantial and presentable, they are Somewhat More Presentable than the first lot.

May I present to you, Ladies and Gentlemen, a few blanket squares that look pretty similar to each other, an egg cosy and a flower that looks like a flower. Five Petals And Everything.

My crochet squares - properly 'square' this time. Top left is a lovely deep purple. They're only pinned together for this picture, not sure how I'll lay them out yet.

Egg Cosy

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 18:47

    Keep on hooking – it’ll get easier! Jan Eaton does some good books in UK terminology if you get stuck.

    • March 5, 2012 18:56

      Thanks for your comment. It had better get easier – my first square took me over an hour! :D
      By the fourth I managed to get it down to about 40 mins but there were a few dodgy stitches here and there :S

  2. March 5, 2012 19:26

    Your squares look great. And how cute are those flowers? I’m a knitter, not a crocheter, but I just found the cutest headband pattern that has a big crocheted flower sewn to it. Guess I’ll be picking up the hook soon too!

    • March 5, 2012 19:28

      Thank you. I did a big chunky rose which I’ve shown on the ‘first forays’ post, which was very easy to make and hides many a dodgy stitch – and looks gorgeous.

  3. March 5, 2012 19:29

    Hey, these are looking great! I’m yet to master crocheting really. My waving the hook around yarn doesn’t really count.
    By the way – I’ve replied to your post about selling things on Mumsnet – in bloggers. I don’t know if you’ve seen it. Sorry if it is too long ; )
    Well done on the shop!

    • March 5, 2012 19:34

      Thank you. Give crocheting a go – it’s really quite easy to pick up. I’m sure it’d be even easier without pretending to be able to multi-task with the Little People too :)
      I haven’t seen your post on the thread – can’t seem to find it?

  4. March 5, 2012 22:22

    I love those red, white and blue squares. Keep up the great work :-)

    • March 6, 2012 06:48

      Thank you. I may only be able to show off the finished blanket in a few months’ time (either that, or I’ll produce a dolls’ blanket – nice and small!)
      The one that looks blue is actually a deep, deep purple but the colour doesn’t really show here very well.

  5. March 6, 2012 09:05

    Wow, those are looking really good. It shows that practise does make perfect. On the colour front as someone that is always looking for ways to improve my own photos I have found that it is really difficult to get purple right.

  6. March 6, 2012 16:33

    This looks great – keep going! I know what you mean about ‘simple’ instructions – some people just don’t know the meaning of the word! Some of the best tutorials I’ve found are over at attic24 (http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/) Lucy does great step by step instructions with brilliantly clear photos – they’ve really helped me :)

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

