Skip to content

More Crochet ~ crochet baby booties and a crochet bag for my (ahem) ever-advancing crocheting skills…

April 17, 2012

Not put off by my previous attempts at crocheting, I’ve had another go. We went to away  for the Easter holidays and  as I couldn’t take my sewing machine and fabric stash with me I took instead my crochet hooks and wool (nay, yarn!). While pretending to listen to the Little People, I busied myself with a very basic bag (in a gorgeous deep purple although the pictures don’t do the colour justice), which I embellished with my previously-made cream rose.

I’ve just finished it off at home with a fabric lining including pockets for my hooks.

I also made some baby booties. For nobody in particular, but I just wanted to give them a go because they look so sweet and they use a new stitch for me – the half-treble. They don’t look nearly as professional as they should given the hours I put in. I did a whole load of unravelling (weirdly satisfying to watch your hard work disappear in a matter of seconds) when I lost count on numerous occasions, and when I realised I’d crocheted the toe bit on the side (!), and kept going until I got what you can see here in these photos.

 

There’s no tutorial, as I am many, many moons away from being able to teach my ‘skills’ to anyone else.

And I’m still not sure what it means by sewing the ends in – I’m kind of tucking them in and out of the other stitches and hoping for the best. :S Maybe someone can enlighten me? 😀

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 17:16

    I’m so glad that you’ve given crocheting another go. I taught myself before just before Christmas, after being scared of it and have found it very satisfying. I love the bag and I can imagin how nice the colour looks in real life. Did you sew the lining in as you would if you were sewing two pieces of fabric together, or did you have to do something special? I’m not sure what sewing int he ends means. I either crochet them in (if I change colours…..so the wool lies between the bottom stitch and the new stitch); or weave them in using a wool needle (like I do when sewing). But as I have taught myself both, I wouldn’t say that was the right way. I’d love to know too!

    • April 17, 2012 18:32

      Thanks Beth ~ yes, I just sewed the fabric lining in as if the crochet bag was normal fabric. Whether that’s the right way to do it or not I don’t know, but it looks okay. I double stitched over at the top though just to make it really secure as I didn’t bother pinning the two pieces together and I think the yarn was a bit slippery otherwise.

  2. April 17, 2012 18:16

    Wow! They’re gorgeous. Did you design them yourself or follow a pattern? The bag is beautiful too. Just perfect for carting around your knitting and crochet!

    • April 17, 2012 18:33

      I’d love to say I designed them myself, but that would be a big fat lie 😀 I’m nowhere near that level yet – although I did (ahem) ‘design’ the bag myself – all two sides of double crochet and then the strap. Genius work there methinks 😉

      • April 17, 2012 19:08

        Well, I’m impressed, anyway. I wouldn’t know where to begin. I’m still trying to get my doubles sorted out from my triples. Also, I loved the lining of the bag. Made it look really professional.

  3. April 17, 2012 20:25

    they all look great! i’ve only recently taken the dive into crochet too and recently completed a blanket (the wonkiness, mis-counted stitches and holes add to the charm:-). i’d love to attempt a bag too i think – love the purple!

    • April 17, 2012 20:33

      Thank you tildy. I started out with granny squares for a blanket, but got bored as each square was taking me ages! Think I might make them into a cushion cover instead – quicker that way 😀

  4. April 17, 2012 20:44

    I think you’ve done a great job – I love the bag especially! I am not much of a crocheter myself…knitting is my bag, and sewing 🙂 all these treble/double Uk/US terminology ….just gets me in a tizz!
    My understanding is that sewing in is just as you say, tucking them in and away. You can use a needle or a crochet hook – well, that is what it is for knitting – I’m sure it will be the same for crochet.

    • April 17, 2012 20:49

      Thanks TM, as long as the end product looks okay and doesn’t unravel, I’m happy 😀

      I haven’t got into knitting yet – maybe one day…

  5. April 17, 2012 20:59

    Yay! Well done you. The bag is a lovely colour and very useful. And the booties are so sweet. I’ve never tried booties and I have a bag on my to do list. As far as I know you are doing the sewing in the ends bit right. That’s what I do. Maybe you should persevere with your granny squares. Once you’ve done a few you can remember the pattern and you get quicker and need to concentrate less.

    • April 17, 2012 21:05

      Concentrating less was what led the toes to be on the side of the booties!! 😀

      You’re right though, the squares are getting easier. I might continue with them once I’ve got the fairs out of the way.

      • April 17, 2012 21:10

        Lol! I would have to concentrate on them lots too! All the Easter eggs I made came out different because I wasn’t concentrating on the pattern.

  6. lyndellmaree permalink
    April 17, 2012 23:46

    Love the bag!

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...