Skip to content

Car Seat Support Cushion ~ Make Your own Neck Support

July 12, 2012

With the long summer holidays coming up, there will be many, many hours in the car for me and my family. I’ve been thinking of a good way to help my eldest when she dozes off, as her car seat doesn’t have very supportive sides by her head, so she often slumps forward. She doesn’t seem to mind, but by ‘eck it looks uncomfortable!

I came across this idea for a neck support cushion on Pinterest and used Super Jenn’s instructions with just a few tweaks to suit my needs (I wanted the cushion to be super firm),  and the materials I had. The only main things I did differently were to use one long stretch of foam rolled into a cylinder (cut from an old baby mattress that we no longer need), and to sew the velcro strips on to the tabs before creating them (by placing them pre-folding and stitching up), so that the stitching was all contained. For the lining, I used some old net curtain/muslin material my sister gave me from her house move, and the fleece fabric (for three pillows) was just £3 and the velcro came in at under £1.

 

There are slim velcro fastening tabs to hold the cushion onto the seatbelt, therefore not interfering with the safety of the seatbelt, and although I’ve made one for my toddler, who is still in a five-point harness, I won’t be attaching it until he’s old enough to be in an adult seatbelt car seat.

             

My daughter tried it out this morning and seriously loved it! I’m looking forward to seeing her use it in a few weeks’ time – no more head-lolling for her!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 19:02

    What a great idea!

  2. July 13, 2012 18:37

    Wow, that looks great. Will you make a grown up version?!

  3. July 14, 2012 09:48

    I need to make one of these for my daughter. She’s like a human bobble head every time she falls asleep in the car, lol!

    • July 14, 2012 11:32

      So are my kids! We’re using them today for the first time, so I’ll let you know how we get on…

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

