Skip to content

HappyLand Figures Roll ~ Free Tutorial ~ how to make your own pocket doll carrier.

December 22, 2011

HappyLand people ready to be rolled!

With the success of and interest in my crayon roll, make-up roll and car rolls, I thought I could adapt them to suit Little People’s interests and ‘needs’. My friend asked me to make a one for her gorgeous two-year old daughter to house some of her HappyLand figures when they’re out and about, and I still have lots of the beautiful butterfly fabric left over so adapted the other patterns to make this one. The HappyLand people fit really nicely in the pockets, and because there are pockets on both sides, they don’t slip out, however much your Little Person tries to shake them free!

This was my first attempt at a HappyLand people roll, and I can see me making Lego and StarWars figure rolls in the near future.

If you fancy having a go yourself, here’s how I did it. Again, it was really easy to do and so satisfying to create. I’d love to know your thoughts on the tutorial, particularly if you think it needs tweaking at all. Also, please send me pics of the ones you create ~ you know you want to!

Easy tutorial for a HappyLand people roll (for 8 figures)

Materials Needed

main fabric for body (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
inside fabric for body (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
2x pocket fabric (I used 8  x 34cm including seams)
interfacing or interlining (I used 13 x 34cm including seams)
1 length of ribbon (I used 60cm)
threads (I used a matching one for the pocket stitching and a contrasting one for the top stitching)
fabric scissors
iron
tape measure
 
  1. Cut all the material down to size. If you’re planning on making more than one, cut all the material down now as once you’re on a roll (!) for stitching the pocket sections, it’s a lot easier to do them one after the other. Sew or Iron on any interfacing now
  2. For the pocket, fold the fabric in half lengthways and press. 
  3. Pin the pockets against the (right sides of the) lining fabric with the horizontal edges matching. Your pockets’ raw edges should match the raw edges of your lining fabric with a gap in between the two.
  4. Using pins, mark the halfway line of the fabric and then the ¼ and ¾vertical lines on either side ready for stitching.
  5. Sew each pocket line, being careful to backstitch at the top and bottom of each pocket to secure the thread.
  6. Fold the ribbon in half and pin the folded end of the ribbon in place on the short side of the roll. The ribbon needs to be pinned in towards the fabric as you will turn the roll later.
  7. Place the main fabric over the pockets and lining (right sides together) and pin in place.
  8. Stitch around the edge of the fabric with a 1cm seam, leaving a 5-6cm gap for turning. I find that it’s easiest if you leave the gap on the opposite side to the ribbon. Double stitch over the ribbon to secure.
  9. Trim corners before turning.
  10. Pulling the ribbon through the gap, turn the roll the right way round. Use a chopstick to get sharp corners.
  11. Iron the carry case flat, making sure the open seams are folded in to match where you’ve sewn them.
  12. ‘Top stitch’ (i.e. sew over the edges of the pocket) around the HappyLand roll for a nice finish.
  13. Pop the HappyLand figures into their little pockets, roll up the case and you’re done! Made By Yours Truly! Admire your work and sit back with a nice cuppa or a wee tipple of your choice..

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 20:14

    That is a really good tutorial, one of the easiest I’ve seen. These roll creations usually scare me as they seem a bit complicated but you make it look easy! HappyLand roll is a great idea!

    • January 13, 2012 20:23

      Thank you Dilly – my aim was to make the tutorial as straightforward as possible for the very reason you’ve said, so I’m really pleased you find it easy to follow, thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. My first forays into dressmaking ~ just plans so far… « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

