Skip to content

Chocolate Fudge hearts ~ how to make your own easy chocolate fudge, perfect for Valentine’s Day

February 10, 2012

I call this ‘magic’ fudge as it is so easy, you just can’t go wrong. There is no candy thermometer involved, nor do you stir for hours and hours. It is easy, I tell you, easy! And quick! And yummy. (I’m a fan, can you tell?)

My husband is addicted to this, ever since I made many batches for Christmas presents, and all the end bits that didn’t make the cut (hahaa! See what I did there?) needed to be eaten up. So he dutifully obliged. So kind.

It’s our wedding anniversary tomorrow and the traditional gift this year is ‘candy’, so what better way to show him that deep, deep, deep, deep down I still love him, other than with chocolate hearts? I made six chocolate fudge hearts (for the number of years we’ve  been married), and the rest I did as normal squares of fudge. Yummy, yummy, magic chocolate fudge. I was going to add brazil nuts, and bought a bag specially last week, but it appears that they have been snaffled by somebody (pointing no fingers, of course).

10) Chocolate Fudge Hearts

Recipe

340g dark chocolate (I’m sure they’d be even more magical with expensive stuff, but I just use Sainsbury’s basic range)

397g can of condensed milk(try to avoid using nestlé if at all possible, ta muchly )

1.5 Tsp. vanilla essence

Pinch of Salt

Chopped nuts (optional – especially if you’re forced into it by having a greedy husband)

Line a square tin (I think mine is 8″). Break up the chocolate and melt it into a bain marie (a bowl sitting in boiling water to you and me). Stir until melted and remove the bowl from the heat. Add the condensed milk and the rest of the ingredients and stir. Pour into the baking tin and smooth down. Pop it into the fridge. After 2-3 hours once it’s set a bit, but soft enough to cut, cut into squares (or nick your children’s shape cutters and make heart chocolates out of it), then put back into the fridge to set completely.

Made By Yours Truly! You are done. It really is that easy! Sit back and admire your handiwork (by scoffing it yourself).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 20:32

    Mmmmm I’m definitely going to try this! Does it work with milk chocolate? or eeeeeven sugary sickly sweet (my favourite) white chocolate 😉

    • February 16, 2012 20:41

      It’s seriously easy and yummy! I’ve not tried it with milk or white chocolate, but did consider doing white chocolate with almonds. Let me know how they turn out!

  2. February 26, 2012 18:48

    This recipe looks even simpler than the one I normally use which has icing sugar in it. White chocolate and dried cranberries are a lovely combination and are perfect for christmas presents.

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

