Skip to content

Space Saver Tip ~ re-vamp your wardrobe

February 19, 2012

This is an old project I did to give my Little People some more playing room in their bedroom. I don’t know about you, but I find it really claustraphobic standing between open wardrobe doors in a small room, with no space behind you and feeling penned in between the doors. I also wanted to maximise the space in the wardrobe so I could take a chest of drawers out of their room too. Super storage on its way…

 

Basically I removed the wardrobe doors, added two little eye hooks to the wardrobe and hung a net curtain wire (something like this kind of thingelastic across the top.

I then decorated an old curtain (the other half of the one I used to make their teepee) with fabric paint and fabric pens and painted all kinds of bugs & insects (and some arachnids & mollusks too ~ disclaimer for not just classifying them all as insects: my husband is a science geek, so it has been drummed into me over the past ten years that spiders are not insects, and I’m nothing if not a pedant. I apologise).  I also painted some flowers (ahem – not an artist as you can see!) growing up from the bottom.

 

I added a couple of extra loops to the top of the curtain, hung one of those shoe-tidy things to act as instant little shelves, threw in an old unit to house yet more clothes, and, ta daaaah… One super crammed and highly reachable wardrobe with NO DOORS. Hurrah!

Made By Yours Truly. Simple, simple and a real space saver.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2012 09:55

    I love the curtain! So bright and cheerful. Great idea.

  2. February 19, 2012 10:47

    Thank you – the spiders make me smile every time I see them 🙂

  3. February 19, 2012 14:30

    What a clever idea! I bet the Little Ones love it.

  4. February 20, 2012 12:36

    I like this! I bet your kids do too. You are so an artist! These creepy crawlies are cool!

  5. February 21, 2012 21:35

    Love your colourful bugs and butterflies. So much better than looking at wardrobe doors!

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

