Skip to content

Procrastination ~ aka my Craft Fair Money Apron Float Thingy.

March 27, 2012

Currently I am waking up worrying about what to make, how to make it, what material to use, how many of the crafty goods to make and whether anybody will actually want to buy these things from me. So I make lists. I casually canvas opinion about all of the above. I make more lists. I sketch down ideas of things to make, and how to make them. I scribble down fabric costs, and hours it takes me to make each item. I try not to think of how much I’ve spent already on fabrics and necessities. This is all in between looking after my three Little People and ferrying them to and from social lives far busier than mine. What I’m not doing is actually making the lovely things. Which worries me even more, so I then make some lists about how many hours a week I could and probably should be ‘creating’. 

The Art of Procrastination, perfected by Yours Truly. 

So, yesterday, I excelled myself. I spent the evening sketching ideas, deliberating over which fabric to use, which colour zipper to add, quite how to add the zipper, where to place the pockets, embroidering my own little fabric tab

Made By Yours Truly. Logo in the making...

to match my business cards and then finally making this;

My Craft Fair Money Apron Float Thingy

My Craft Fair Money Apron Float Thingy. That’s what they’re called in the trade you know. Fact.

Then I pranced around wearing it, feeling all Eastenders’ market stall holder like, being able to whip it off, hand it to a minion saying “look after my stall for a moment will ya? Ta love”.

Possibly a bit ahead of myself, seeing as my list pile is mounting high, but my craft goods pile? Not so much.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 07:07

    Absolutely love your money apron float thingy! And those 20 quid notes look very attractive too… 🙂 Good luck and keep going – it must be hard to plan and shop and make with 3 children, so I’m hugely impressed. 🙂

    • March 27, 2012 07:21

      Hehe! I threw the 20s in so my money apron float thingy would know what it felt like to have money in it – just in case the fairs don’t feed it in the same way 😀

  2. March 27, 2012 07:46

    Hi – so so true about procrastination! Took me months to actually get started with blogging; read loads of books over a few years about crafty stuff before actually starting to make anything!
    I love your logo and apron float thingy – keep going!

    • March 27, 2012 09:31

      Glad I’m not the only one! 😀

      Thank you for your comments – they’re really appreciated.

  3. March 27, 2012 15:42

    Lovely apron float, I’m sure you could sell some of those!

  4. March 27, 2012 19:29

    What a great idea!! I have a craft fair in May and really must make myself something similar unless you start selling them of course!!!).

    Love it

  5. March 28, 2012 12:51

    Sounds oh so familiar!!!! But i LOVE your little apron thingy ma jinging thing…..May it be filled with much money 🙂

  6. lyndellmaree permalink
    March 30, 2012 07:00

    Gotta love something that ends in thingy 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Dotty Handbag/Purse (or is it a washbag?) And How To Add a Zip ~ with Free Tutorial « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

