Skip to content

Clearing and Organising – my second love!

April 3, 2012
 
 
 
 
While I don’t enjoy the actual clearing and organising bit itself, the end result is always really satisfying!

 

 
I started with a big ol’ flexitub of fabrics and bits and pieces – everything just chucked in, dare I say ‘willy-nilly’. Oh the Shame!

The Flexi-Tub Of Shame

 
So I got sorting; I re-organised two spaces. I bought myself a little computer desk (£10 from my local charity shop), and also a sweet litte bedside cabinet (for £5). The bedside cabinet has been put into the space behind our bedroom door where the Flexi-Tub Of Shame was. It now neatly houses cushions waiting to be covered, stuffing waiting to fill more cushions and dinosaurs, a wonderful scrap bag (used from an old handbag-bag my friend ‘lent’ (ahem) me for my hen-do) and a basket of felt fabric. On top is a basket given to me by my mum for Christmas from a traidcraft stall. This contains yet more fabric scraps, but these are all decent-sized so can be used for little pockets or quilt squares and the like.  

 
I’ve put the little computer desk on the other side of the bedroom door, and retrieved my beloved sewing machine from the table downstairs, and the fabric pots I upcycled from jeans are now on top of the desk. Wicker baskets have been recalled from various places around the house where they were gathering crap, and now contain some of my creations. I’ve swapped The Huge Flexi-Tub Of Shame for a much smaller and more manageable one for second-hand clothes waiting to be transformed (and my Littlest Person now has my huge one for all his toys), and I’ve boxed all my paperwork (plans, ideas and templates) into one place.

Oh So Organised and Ordered. Jubbly!

 
The ‘magic mat’ (as I like to call it) is on the keyboard-shelf, along with a box-lid full of the most-used threads and my homemade needle case; so handy, and right next to my new sewing desk are home-made shelves. A few months ago my dad and I made them to go in the space between the wardrobe and the wall, and I hung a beautiful batik from it which I picked up from my travels to Indonesia about 20 years ago (wow, I’m old!). I cleared one of the shelves in there, and now have re-organised all the rest of my fabric using beautiful boxes that had been packaging for various gifts the kids have received over the years.Things That Need To Be Out Of Reach are in another wicker basket. My ribbons, my embroidery thread and loop, my elastic bits & pieces, my bells and flowers etc are all in their own boxes or box lids, and my beautiful fat quarters are stacked in a Hungry Caterpillar box on its end.
 
I can sew away to my heart’s content with everything within my reach, and I can drop the blue batik down,
and all is calm.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 09:20

    Oh, you’re putting me to shame… I am scared to tackle my fabric stash at the moment. Better get sewing to use some of it up.

  2. April 3, 2012 10:07

    You are so right. The process is not always pleasant the results are definitely worth it. It looks great. I had a little go at mine the other day and it looks loads better, there’s so much more room to work now. But there’s lots more that could be done!

  3. Recipe Junkie permalink
    April 3, 2012 11:31

    Oh the shame, the shame of my ‘drawers’. Problem with me is that unlike you I hardly ever do much more than sew on badges to cub/rainbows uniforms and buttons onto school cardis. But in my fantasy life I’m always knocking up sweet and useful little things, so I collect. Drives the Husband mad. One day, though I will prove him wrong, and then i will tidy my stash with pride…

  4. April 3, 2012 20:54

    Your sewing area looks great!

  5. April 3, 2012 21:46

    When I’m in the mood to tidy, I quite enjoy it. Radio on, taking my time…..but I have to be in the mood. Your result was worth it 🙂

  6. April 4, 2012 08:28

    Aahhh, I love a good sort-out. Look at those lovely piles waiting to be sewn. Just as it should be! 🙂

  7. April 4, 2012 23:22

    Will you come and organize my creative space now?? I wish I enjoyed it as much as you! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

