Skip to content

Big Cushion ~ sweet dreams and a tooth fairy pocket

May 3, 2012

My eldest Little Person just had a birthday and she had been asking for one of my tooth fairy cushions so thought I’d go one step further and make her this pillow.

 I used an old bedsheet of hers from her cot days for the front. I’ve included a tooth fairy pocket and a ‘sweet dreams’ pocket with embroidered words on them. She sometimes has bad dreams and likes to ‘put her bad dreams into a box’ which she keeps on her bed.With this ‘sweet dreams’ pocket, she can hide the nightmares away into something less bulky in her bed.

  

 

Other than the fabric I used for the back, everything else is from leftover scraps from my fabric stash. The moon and stars are from an old skirt of mine that I’ve recently cut up ~ it was made from a metallic thread, but no longer fits me (it used to look lovely in the days before the Little People and lots of cakes changed my body shape 😀

I’ve appliquéd her name across the top in a variety of pretty fabrics – some of which hold special meanings for us. She’s just heading out of the pink, pink, pink stage (YAY!), so thought a combination of reds and blues would do nicely, and on the back I used a lovely fabric I picked up from Chawla’s which she really liked.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 14:05

    I recognise that flowery fabric on the back. I have just used some in the latest little house I have been making but in the blue/lilac colour way. No idea what or where it is from, just liked it!

  2. May 3, 2012 15:33

    Very gorgeous cushion. Imogen is lucky to have you to make these special things for her, that are unavailable in shops!

  3. May 4, 2012 19:13

    It’s so pretty – She’ll treasure this! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

