Skip to content

Another Clutch Bag – with free tutorial on how to make your own clutch bag.

May 10, 2012

A couple of months ago I won a giveaway from the wonderful Stitch This which included this gorgeous paisley-esque funky fabric. I’ve been terrified to cut it up but took Stitch’s advice, took a deep breath and just went for it. Partly the reason for the smallish size of this clutch – if it went wrong I didn’t want to have ruined the whole lot 😀

It’s a very simple bag to make, although I did have a good go of hashing that up. I tried to do something clever with it half-way through, with inside-outs and turnings, but somehow I couldn’t get it right. I have kept in the pic I took of my, ahem, creation mid-turn just to make you laugh, but decided to unpick my ridiculously tightly woven stitches and just cover the seams with binding instead.

If you’re still with me and fancy making your own, then have a look at these step-by-step instructions on how to make this clutch bag along with step-by-step photos. This is for a flat and straight clutch bag. My other clutch bag creation, with pleats and an open top is here with its own tutorial too.

How To Make Your Own Clutch Bag – flat and straight

  1. Cut your fabrics to size. I used a rectangle of 9.5″ x 10″ with a main fabric, medium-weight interfacing and lining. I hadn’t yet decided how to close the bag, hence the picture including a toggle button, a fabric button and a magnetic clasp. If I’d had some sticky velcro to hand then I might have tried that too, but I opted for making my own fabric button – my newest ‘skill’ which I’m dangerously close to getting addicted to and one day I might even get smooth edges too.
  2. Lay and pin your fabrics together; Main fabric (Right Side [RS] up), then lining fabric (RS up) then the interfacing. Fold about 1.5″ / 2″ down along one length to mark where your flap will be and make a mark at either end. If you’re planning on using a loop, it would be best to pin and stitch this in place now fold the loop inside the bag, so that the raw ends poke out above the raw edges of the material. Sew along the three outer edges of the flap (shown in red thread in Picture 2).
  3. I then stitched a further seam 1/4″ in along each of the two short ends of the flap as I realised I wanted it to be slightly shorter than the width of the bag (but this is when the bag was going to be flipped inside out. This step could be left out). (Picture 3)
  4. Fold up the remainder of the bag up to the bottom of the flap (as shown in pic 4).
  5. Fold the flap down and make a mark where your button will be (or clasp, or velcro blob or whatever you decide to use), making sure it is central lengthways.
  6. Stitch this button/toggle etc in place before sewing up, so that your knot etc is out of sight. If you’re using a clasp or velcro blob, secure both sides in place before the next step where you will stitch the flap closed.
  7. Turn the flap the right way round and stitch along the bottom of it/top of the bag [Picture 9]. Make sure you turn it the right-side round first. You wouldn’t want to stitch across an un-turned flap. That would be silly. And annoying. And mean a lot of unpicking. Hmmmm…
  8. With RST, (and flap tucked inside), sew a hem along the length of the bottom of the bag, creating a tube. Turn the right way round and press.
  9. Do not then do anything like I did. Do not try and do clever inside out stitching and turning – picture 10 shows you what kind of a mess you might find yourself in if you do that at this stage. Again, hmmmm….
  10. Measure a couple of bits of fabric a bit longer than the height of the bag, they should be about 2.5″ wide but I didn’t have any wide scraps to hand, so used thinner ones. This is fine too but just a bit more fiddly.
  11. Fold in half, press and open up again. Fold the long edges in again to the pressed middle line.
  12. Fold down the top edge of one end (as shown in picture 12).
  13. With the length and tip of fabric folded in on themselves (and lined up with the top of the bag), stitch the back half of the binding to the back edge of the bag (as shown in picture 13).
  14. Fold the overlap bit up and over the bottom edge of the bag and stitch in place (as shown in picture 14).
  15. Snip the small excess triangle off (as shown in picture 15), and stitch up the rest of the binding up the side of the bag. Repeat steps 10 – 14 with the other side of the bag.
  16. Ta Daahh! You’re Done. Made By Yours Truly. Now sit back and admire your handiwork.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 15:48

    Love it!!! So lovely to see the fabric actually being used! Great tutorial too 🙂

  2. May 10, 2012 20:20

    Looks great! Thanks for the tutorial, too; I can’t wait to make one for myself!

  3. May 10, 2012 20:43

    This is lovely. I’m thinking specs case! Thank you for sharing 😀

  4. Kelly permalink
    May 15, 2012 21:57

    It’s very sweet and that is lovely fabric; you’re so lucky to have won it!

  5. May 18, 2012 16:10

    This is so cute 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Little Clutch Bag ~ How to make your own ~ with a free tutorial « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

