Skip to content

Fabric basket

May 14, 2012

ImageImageImageImage 

A bit more upcycling of my parents’ old curtains here. Inspired by So Resourceful’s post on her fabric bread basket, I made this fabric basket this weekend using a picture I’d seen of one made with ribbons so that the basket can be untied and stored flat.

Basically this is made with an octagon, a fat cross of interfacing (to strengthen the sides and base), and a small length of ribbon attached to each corner. Very simple to make, and beautiful to look at. You could make it any size to suit your needs ~ I’m thinking of making a little one which would be perfect for the thousands of bangles, hairclips, bunchies and scrunchies we once had that seem to lose their way. What will you put in yours?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 18:11

    Love it! I am going to have to make one with ribbons now too!

  2. May 15, 2012 15:59

    Excellant! 🙂 Was it my baskets with ribbons that you saw?
    http://ayearonthemake.com/2012/05/10/day-59/
    I have made quite a few of these for craft fairs and bazaars over the years. I love them as they are really handy for picnics and BBQ’s. The fact they can be washed and stored flat are an advantage. They are on sale at the minute in John Lewis too, expensive though when you can make your own.

    Now you have one it I can assure you it will come out for everything. You’ll wonder how you managed without one before! Enjoy! 🙂

    • May 15, 2012 17:42

      Ah no, it wasn’t (I saw them in a library book a couple of weeks back), but yours are lovely! Mine was definitely a first attempt and looks like it, but I’ll keep working at it to get better. You’re right though – already love my little basket. The library one used cardboard to keep it stiff, but, like you say, these are great that you can wash them too.

      • May 15, 2012 18:30

        The ones in John Lewis are made with cardboard too. This puzzles me because if they are out or used regularly they get they get dusty or dirty! surely the designer should know that they need a wash at some point!
        For a first attempt this is very good. Really enjoying seeing your makes.

      • May 15, 2012 18:38

        Thank you – likewise! Just put two and two together and realised how many of your posts I’ve seen and liked while browsing WordPress. Am following you now 🙂

  3. May 18, 2012 16:11

    Those curtains are brilliant! Another lovely project 🙂

  4. May 18, 2012 23:04

    Really, really cute. Love this! Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Upcycling #5 (?) Fabric Pots « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

