Skip to content

Upcycling: From teeny-tiny dress to a fancy and fitting skirt…

May 27, 2012

Upcycling is my new (slightly faddy) buzzword.

My biggest Little Person is growing taller and taller although has remained skinny, skinny, skinny. Up until recently she was able to fit into tiny dresses for 2 year olds (she’s 5!), but they have been becoming increasingly tight. As sad as I am to see her grow up so quickly, she’s even sadder to not be able to fit into the much-loved dresses of (relative) yore. So I decided to chop up a teeny dress…

 and make a well-fitting, fancy skirt.

I ruthlessly cut the boddice off,  and sliced off the very top of the stitching of the skirt so all the folds were cut loose. To make the waistband, I cut off the two ties that had been attached to the side of the dress and cut the short ends of them so they were rectangular. With the front piece of waistband, I inserted a couple of bits of medium-weight interfacing and ironed them so the front of the waistband was flat and quite rigid. My daughter chose a bit of ribbon she liked and I stitched this across the length of the waistband to add some pretty detail. I inserted some elastic into the back piece so it was gathered, and then joined front and back halves of the waistband so it formed one loop. I pinned this to the top of the skirt, which I gathered as I went, and then stitched the re-pleated skirt to the waistband.

Ta Daah. A really simple upcycle job. Made By Yours Truly

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2012 18:36

    Fantastic. Little J is similar, he’ll be 5 in October but some of the shorts he is wearing are age 2!! They seem to be getting short in the crotch area finally. Just hunted through his brothers cast offs to see what will fit him now so I can recycle the 2yr old shorts (to charity shop)

    • May 27, 2012 18:47

      I suppose that’s the advantage of skirts – if you can add a bit of length at the top of the waist, they can go on and on (until they’ve been worn to shreds that is!) 🙂

  2. May 27, 2012 19:41

    Just gorgeous. Wish I was as handy as you as we have much cherished dresses in our house that are veering on the indecent!

  3. May 27, 2012 22:24

    Such a clever idea! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. May 28, 2012 20:15

    How cute!!!

  5. May 29, 2012 12:55

    What a fantastic idea. I’m tempted to get a sewing machine just so I can do a few of these very easy things.

    • May 29, 2012 14:58

      Do! It really is very simple, although I have to warn you; once you start, you can’t stop. I now have bags and bags of clothes to ‘fix’ one way or another 😉

  6. May 30, 2012 04:14

    Love this! Was looking at my friend diaryofamadcrafters blog and notice you did something similar. This is great!

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

