Skip to content

Peg Bag Prototype ~ How to make your own Peg Bag ~ with free tutorial

June 1, 2012

My sister’s asked me to make her a pretty peg bag. So I have.  It’s a prototype which needed a bit of a squeeze to get the hanger in and a two-piece  binding hem but as it’s only my sister (!), I’m sure she won’t mind. Nothing I can’t fix for my next attempt though. I think it looks lovely and probably took about an hour from conception to finished product. The instructions below are for a not-tight-squeeze size. Give it a go ~ it’s super easy!

Materials Needed

  • Child’s coathanger
  • Two fabrics – outer fabric (one piece ca. 25cm x 35cm, one piece ca. 25cm x 30cm) and an inner fabric (one piece ca. 25cm x 30cm)
  • Binding (ca. 30cm). If you don’t have binding, you can always just hem the semi-circle open.

How To Make Your Own Peg Bag

If you’re more a visual learner (can you tell I am a teacher by profession?), then check out the photos below in the slideshow and they will show you step-by-step how to do it. You can the pause the slideshow for each step too.

  • Cut your pieces; a couple of cm either side wider than the coathanger and curve the top to match the curve of the hanger.
  • With the longer of the two outer fabrics, cut it in two widthways about 20cm up from the bottom.
  • With the smaller top piece, mark and cut out a semi-circle on the straight edge.
  • Lay these two pieces together, RST, and stitch across the two matching raw edges. I imagine I could have cut out a semi-circle from within one piece. I might try this next time.
  • Going slowly and carefully, stitch the binding across the arc of the semi-circle and then again with the straight edge. I cut an ‘L’ shape into the ends of the binding for the straight edge so that I could get it past the corner. I’m sure there’s a way to do this in one go, but I’m tired and couldn’t quite work out how to do it on an inside corner. (With an outer corner, you basically fold the binding up away from the edge you’re about to bind, then fold it back down along the next edge).
  • Place the front piece RS up, then the outer back piece RS down, then the inner back piece RS up and pin together.
  • Mark a couple of cm in the top centre where the coathanger will go through, then stitch around the rest of the entire peg bag. No need to leave any gap for turning, as you have the semi-circle to pull it all through.
  • Pull it all through the semi-circle and put the coathanger hook through the hole at the top.
  • Ta Daaah! You’re done. Made By Yours Truly. Now sit back and admire your work briefly. Now get up and hang out that wash 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 13:35

    Thank you for the pattern and tutorial!!

    I just wanted to let you know, I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. You can read about it here: http://knittingwithoutanet.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/449/

    Love your blog! Keep up the great work!

    • June 4, 2012 19:32

      Thank you Knitting ~ it’s great to hear from the people who read my blog. Just checked yours out too – looks great!

Trackbacks

  1. Stop the Raindance! « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

