Skip to content

Lots more makes

March 18, 2013

At the start of this year, I’d said I’d try and make something every week and was worried I wouldn’t be able to, but this past week there’s been a flurry of threads and fabrics in the Yours Truly household. I’ve been inspired loads and so have been making loads, and thought I would add a few photos to show them off. All Made By Yours Truly.

First inspiration came from some new beautiful fabric I’d bought just because, (despite swearing to myself I wouldn’t buy any more until I’d made a serious dent in my existing stash) and so more doorstops were made, second came from a bag I saw in a shop window and so drawstring bags were made, another by another wonderful blogger I’ve come across recently, and so a Box Bag was made, then I made some more, erm, ‘elephant’ key rings with scraps of beautiful fabric, mainly because I keep meaning to replace my lost elephant keyring and get a bit addicted to making them once I get going. One day, two of them might look the same. And one day, I might even attach one to my set of keys.

I’ve also been producing lots of hair accessories, for an upcoming stall (I hope). Still waiting for confirmation though, so not posting about it quite yet (don’t want to tempt fate and all that!).

IMG_8929 (Large)Same, same, but different (a favourite saying of mine picked up from my travels) ~  twin drawstring bags.

IMG_8928 (Large) IMG_8924 (Large) IMG_8925 (Large)Some beautiful fabric ~ so far made into yet another owl (I think I have a problem!), and a ‘regular’ doorstop. Isn’t the fabric gorgeous? So simple yet elegant.

IMG_8926More elephants (of sorts). Which should I choose to keep?

Grab Bag Magnetic Clip Fasteners Box Shaped Little Pocket inside Uh oh - there's another one! I love the colour combination. Him indoors remains unconvinced.

I absolutely love this colour combination for my ‘Box Bag‘ although I’m yet to convince ‘im indoors. What do you think? It’s a great little bag which is big enough to fit an owl in, if that takes your fancy. I’ve added an inside pocket, a decorative button on the outside and magnetic clasps for closing, as to me it begs to be closed in that way with a satisfying snap. And since taking the photos above, I’ve moved the decorative button so it is central. I don’t quite understand how it shifted so much as I measured it and everything. Goes to show that you can’t put three children to bed and sew a button on at the same time without one of them going wrong (still – better that it was the button and not a child) 😀

Made By Yours Truly

Far from feeling exhausted from all this crafting, I’m chomping at the bit to get stuck in again. It’s just a question of what to make! I’ve got so many ideas scribbled down on my ever-increasing To Do list, and I don’t know where to begin. Ideas welcome! 🙂 Have a happy week people, and get making.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 07:00

    Thankyou. I’m inspired to go get some fabric too now.

  2. March 18, 2013 07:15

    Love everything, but especially the drawstring bags and the OWLS, of course!!! They look so sweet altogether.

  3. March 18, 2013 14:30

    Everything is so great. I wish i could sew. Where did you pick up the “same, same’ phrase? I used to live in Singapore and this was a common saying there…’Same same lah” 🙂

    • March 18, 2013 18:14

      Northern Thailand, so not a million miles away – at the local markets you’d pick up a bag (blue and green) and you’d say you liked it, so they’d pick up a grey t-shirt and say, “you like this? same, same but different!” comparing it to the bag 😀 😀

  4. March 18, 2013 18:05

    I started listing the bits I thought were my favourites but gave up as I love the lot – bag, owls, keyrings, all of it.

    Well done for being so industrious and turning out such lovely goodies.

    • March 18, 2013 18:13

      Thanks tiny – my daughters can’t decide either (I love having home-grown fans although they can be brutally honest too :D)

      • March 18, 2013 18:20

        ooh fantastic – on the spot feedback. Brutally honest is good. My niece is the same and it has helped me improve some of my regular makes so it’s all good

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

