Skip to content

Fiddly, fiddly, fiddly – lined zip pencil case with piping

April 20, 2013

I’ve had some really frustrating times with my Brother this week – (the machine, not the non-existent male sibling!). I’ve been shirring (or attempting to) and piping (or attempting to) and swearing (and succeeding) at my machine.

And, ooh, this particular project nearly tipped me over the edge – I set out to make a few lined pencil cases with a zip and finally ended up with just two. They’re pretty, but they’re not perfect by any stretch of the imagination.

IMG_9123 (Large)

 

The major things that got me with these pencil cases were the measurements of my end circles (way too big but I only realised this too late on in the making process); the piping (because of the over-generous length of cord I’d given myself, and then the matching up of the fabric ends); attaching the piping (I thought my first set of stitching would be invisible at the end, and it wasn’t. Grrr!) and then attaching a zip within the otherwise finished case. Fiddly, fiddly, fiddly. Messy, messy, messy. Frustrating, frustrating, frustrating. Any tips/advice gratefully received!

IMG_9120 (Large)

I think I need to re-think how to do this one again. Or maybe I need to never, ever again attempt a lined zip pencil case with piping! I’ve even got an only half-finished one because I can’t bear to try and get the zip in again neatly, although I did try to attach the piping and ends in a slightly different way and this was better. Still – it’s going to glare at me from atop of my fabric stash next to my still slightly not-finished purple dinosaur (whose last paw/foot/claw remains un-sewn, months on).

IMG_9121 (Large)

But at least I finished two.

And today I made a little dress. I haven’t taken photos of it yet, but I will post a non-detailed pic of it when I do so you can’t see the bad bits ;). It was as fiddly to make as these for different reasons and, in doing so, I managed to break my bobbin case twice (oops) and my poor Brother heard a lot of bad words (oops again). But my biggest Little Person is happy with it and wants to wear it to her birthday party next week. Result! 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2013 23:03

    I haven’t tried piping before so I can’t help but I can imagine how fiddly it is to do. Your pencil cases look great 🙂 Lovely fabric choices too!

  2. April 21, 2013 03:12

    I haven’t tried sewing a pencil case. I hope you could post a tutorial. They look great!

    • April 21, 2013 07:18

      Thank you. I’m currently working out how I could do it so I don’t end up trying to insert a zip into a pencil case. I think I’ve worked it out and will give it a go when I’ve got my head round it.

  3. April 21, 2013 09:12

    Your pencil cases are lovely, no sign of the stress that went into making them! And as for piping, I do indeed have advice – DO NOT ATTEMPT. That’s my experience. I hate doing that thing, ha ha !

Trackbacks

  1. Pencil Case ~ How to make your own lined Pencil Case with Zip and Piping with free tutorial | MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

