Skip to content

Shirring Dress

April 21, 2013

It’s not perfect, and it almost broke my sewing machine (and my nerves!), but I made this little shirring dress for my eldest daughter yesterday.

She chose to wear it as soon as I snipped the last threads yesterday, put it on again today and has asked if she can wear it to her birthday party next weekend. That’s all I could ask for 🙂

IMG_9124 (Large)I managed to snap this one while she was engrossed in writing without her realising I was there. She’s also sitting on the upcycled bench I finished last weekend.

IMG_9128 (Large)

I added a little flower at the front.

IMG_9129 (Large)Oh, and of course it’s a spot of upcycling too – from an old duvet cover! Beautifully soft cotton and just perfect for this project.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2013 14:58

    It’s very pretty and perfect for the Summer 🙂

  2. April 21, 2013 15:17

    Not only do I LOVE the fact that you upcycled this, but it’s adorable. No wonder she loves it and wants to wear it to the birthday party. That’s the ultimate compliment in my book! I watched the Great British Sewing Bee yesterday and one of their challenges was a little girl’s shirred dress. Great show, you might like it.
    Happy sewing,
    Beth

    • April 21, 2013 15:25

      That’s what inspired me to give it a go! Thanks for your kind comments, I really appreciate them 🙂

  3. April 21, 2013 17:12

    Such a sweet dress and beautiful pictures

  4. April 22, 2013 03:29

    Very sweet!

  5. April 22, 2013 20:14

    Gorgeous dress! I too watched the Sewing Bee last week! Clever lady you are 😉

  6. April 22, 2013 21:17

    Very sweet & perfect now the weather is improving

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...

