Skip to content

Using up your fabric scraps ~ Fabric Key Rings ~ surely this counts as upcycling again!

October 2, 2012

I’ve always kept my little offcuts and scraps of fabric from all my lovely projects and have been storing them in a friend’s ‘handbag bag’ (seriously! A handbag that needed its own bag – she’s just that posh, my friend is) (thank you SK!) and the bag they’re in was burst to overflowing, so I thought it was about time I put them to good use.

I came across a fab little websitethat shared ideas of what to do with scrap fabrics, and one of the ideas was fabric key rings.  I’ve already made little hearts, elephants and birds out of small bits of fabric, but this idea used really scrappy bits of scraps.

I’m a bit addicted to these scrappy ones though! I’ve made loads of them (and SK got my first initialled one as part of her birthday present recently).

The only things I did differently was to use scraps of binding I had left over from blanket edging and bunting for the loop onto the key ring as the twill I found was too wide, and I hand-stitched everything after a couple of dodgy attempts on my first ones and my ones look better for it. It also means I can ma

Hearts and Elephants

ke them in front of the telly. Perfick!

Scraps from bunting, purses, box bags lining and more!

Can you spot any of my previous projects?

Scraps from my Box Bags ~ click to the link

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 21:17

    How cute are they?

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...