Skip to content

Hobby Horse ~ Made By Yours Truly ~ for my Little People

February 11, 2012

Hobby Horses ~ how to make your own hobby horse for your Little People.

 

How sweet are these?! I made a hobby horse for each of my Little People and they absolutely love them! 

I’d been searching for a good hobby horse pattern for a while now and finally came across this website with exactly the kind of hobby horse I was looking to make. It’s a really good tutorial and only needed a few tweaks (detailed below) to make the job easier and to get the hobby horses looking like I wanted them to.

Tweaks to Kasia’s tutorial:

  • If you print out the pattern supplied, and enlarge it by 200% as suggested, it still comes out tiny ~ which I realised after I’d already cut the first couple of bits of fabric, so I decided to continue to make it for my Tiniest Person. For my bigger Little People I enlarged it until the nose part measured ca. 4.5″ across.
  • I used felt instead of yarn for the hobby horse mane.
  • I left the head inside out, and pinned the ears to the head instead of the neck  (making sure they’re facing the right way round for when you turn them!) ~ this saves you turning the neck the right way round to pin the ears to the neck, then turning it the wrong way round again to pin to to the head. Just cuts out a couple of steps!
  • When pinning and stitching the head to the neck, push the (still inside-out) head into the top of the neck hole. This keeps the extra bits of fabric out of the way and makes stitching a lot easier.  
  • I’ve ignored the lengths of ribbon/bias tape and measured them after I’d stuffed the hobby horse head to make sure they fit nicely. Especially important if you change the original dimensions!
  • I also measured my Little People to get the right length of dowel ~ and used broom handles instead of dowels as they are sturdier and cheaper.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 07:41

    wow these look amazing!! My little one is a bit young still, but definitely something I could start making now in the hope that it would be finished by the time he’s old enough 🙂 Thanks!

  2. February 17, 2012 08:26

    They look fantastic!!!!!! I have to take a look at the pattern as far as the enlargement. I wonder if the cause is that I used european paper size. As I enlarged the pattern at home by 200 percent, it worked. Thank u for the tip. I will check it and correct it on the blog if necessary. For x mas time, i recommend the modified pattern for a moose- directions also on my blog.

  3. February 17, 2012 13:58

    How fantastic. Every little kiddie would like one of those Love the colours youve chosen – Lots! Did it take a long time to make? I’m so rubbish at sewing but even I would like to make one of these. Very pleased you are sharing these with us. Anyway must go and sort out my own kiddie inks but thanks and well done,

  4. February 21, 2012 09:55

    I have checked the pattern file. It does work to enlage it by 200 percent. One has to make sure that the size check box on the original pattern is 1 cm. I will be uploading the pattern again on a 8,5 x 11 and will be adding measurements in terms how big the pattern should be after enlargement. One reader recommended that I make the pattern in real size. Very good idea, will think about it how I could achieve this. Thank you for all the suggestions. I greatly appreciate it.

  5. March 15, 2012 18:01

    I love your horses – I’ve had one a long time in the making for one of my kids, nearly done…..!

Trackbacks

  1. Make your own Teepee ~ how to make your teepee or wigwam ~ made by Yours Truly with a free tutorial & instructions. « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...