Skip to content

My first attempts at crocheting… Hmmmm.

February 26, 2012
tags: , ,

This is definitely not a tutorial (give me a year or two!), but inspired by the wonderful work of Dilly Tante, and in particular her crocheted butterflies, I’ve had a go at teaching myself a new craft: crochet. I picked up a hook for 10p from my local charity shop, used some wool I had left over from my Christmas decorations, and tried to follow some instructions from a crochet for beginners book. C’était une catastrophe! I could make chains, but beyond that, I didn’t have a clue. The pictures and instructions in the book (I shouldn’t name and shame it here, as I’m not being complimentary) were ridiculous for supposed beginners. Hook this and yarn that, miss a chain and make a round???!

I wondered whether the wool was to blame? (A poor workman blames his tools and all that! :D) and popped in to my lovely local wool shop to check  I’d got the right ‘sort’ of wool. Apparently what I was using was fine, but the lovely wool lady (not that she is made of wool, you understand) said she’d point me in the right direction if I could find a bit of time without all the Little People in tow.

Well, last weekend I finally got an hour to myself, so went back with my tail between my legs and begged for some guidance. Within half an hour, she’d shown me that the chains I’d been making weren’t the stitches themselves (the book failed to explain this, and I’d failed to grasp it myself. The Shame.), and she showed me the basics of a crochet stitch and a double stitch. With that knowledge under my belt, I tackled the book again with some of its more ‘simple’ patterns. They were not simple as far as I understand the meaning of the word.

But, in the spirit of honesty, here are the fruits of my labour. They’re slightly odd-looking fruits. A bit wonky and a few worm holes here and there and there are pips in places that juicy fruit flesh should be. But labour I did and I thought I would share them with you, before they (and I) unravel…

I’m not proud.

Be kind.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 22:54

    I think your roses are lovely. I’ve just started crocheting too and had all kinds of problems trying to follow a YouTube tutorial! Only done granny squares so far, but they are getting easier. Dreading sewing them together though!

    • February 27, 2012 09:46

      I think that my “square” was a granny square. Glad to hear it gets easier (to be honest, it couldn’t get much worse!) 🙂

  2. February 27, 2012 04:32

    hey, at least you got past the chain stitch! That’s the farthest i’ve ever gotten in crocheting :p

  3. February 27, 2012 07:18

    I love the red and white roses, they look fab! Good luck with figuring out crochet some more 🙂

  4. February 27, 2012 20:35

    Well done on your lovely efforts and well done for not giving up and keeping on going.

    You will only get better.

    I’ve been doing it an age and can still turn out a dogs dinner when I’m trying something new. You will continue to learn!!

    I love what you’ve made, well done!

    • February 27, 2012 20:48

      Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’m going to tackle a beanie hat or a small blanket next – and it can always work as a cat basket if it goes belly up!

  5. February 29, 2012 19:22

    They look really great. The flowers are really impressive. So pleased to have inspired you, I’m a crochet evangelist!

Trackbacks

  1. Getting better – slowly but surely? Crochet ~ Part Deux « MadeByYoursTruly

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...