Skip to content

Make Your Own Fire Starters ~ upcycling again ~ fabric scraps and old candles

July 9, 2012

Fill cupcake cases with scraps of fabric

Leave to set

Not strictly craft or creation per se, but I came across this simple idea of making my own firestarters which will come in useful for our campfires in the summer. I always have a lot of scrap fabric – the teeny tiny bits that are too small for anything useful. I love candles, and my tea lights and candles always burn out leaving a fair bit of wax round the wick, so all this cost me was the cupcake cases (or you could fill the egg box troughs instead but I’m saving those for something else!).

Here’s how you do it…

  1. Put your cupcake cases into muffin baking tins.
  2. Divide your fabric scraps (or pencil shavings, or sawdust etc) into the cupcake cases.
  3. Break up your old wax leftovers into a saucepan with a spout.
  4. Bring a larger saucepan of water to the boil, and when it’s boiling, turn the heat down and put the saucepan with the wax on top to create a double boiler.
  5. Stirring occasionally, allow the candle wax bits to melt down to liquid.
  6. When it’s melted, pour carefully into the cupcake cases and leave to cool.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2014 20:15

    Do you use the cupcake paper as the wick then? Have you tried them out, how do they work?

Thanks for stopping by. I love reading your comments - good or bad, so feel free to leave me one here...